March 2, 2009

Vegan Fudge — The final decision!

Posted in Fudge Filled Friday at 12:51 pm by Sidney

So I found the ingredients to make the vegan fudge recipe I posted on  February 21st. While at the health food store, I also discovered Green & Black’s dark chocolate (72% cocoa content). Despite the $5.49 price per baking bar,  I went ahead and bought two. After all, it said it was great for vegans and vegetarians. So with Toffuti, chocolate, and a bunch of other goodies I found in hand, I made my purchase and headed home.

Being the curious gal that I am, I took a little taste of the Tofutti “Better than Cream Cheese.” I put it in quotations for a reason, by the way. Now I was really starting to worry. If the non dairy cream cheese tasted less than what I was expecting, what was the fudge going to taste like? Then again, the recipe did call for 4 1/2 cups of powdered sugar. Any bunkiness would be covered up by all that sweetness, right?

So the next day, I set out all my ingredients, took a sample of the G&B chocolate (YUM!) and followed the instructions to a tee. I put the fudge in the fridge to harden. After a few hours, much to my delight, it hardened perfectly. But the final test is obviously the taste test, right? I cut my self a little tiny piece, not expecting anything spectacular. Boy was I wrong. It was good. REALLY good. Whew! I think the combination of powdered sugar and Green & Black’s helped! LOL!

So Vegan Fudge has the official Arianna Seal of approval. YUMMY!

Take care!
Arianna

Leave a Reply

